### **Guraki Advisory Committee Annual Report 2023**



#### Foreword from the Chair

The Guraki Aboriginal Advisory Committee is pleased to work with the City of Newcastle to improve service delivery to the local Aboriginal community and to provide insight to the aspirations of many Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

#### Membership

- 1. Luke Russell, Wylaabuuranliyn (Chairperson)
- 2. Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz
- 3. Councillor Charlotte McCabe
- 4. Councillor Deahnna Richardson
- 5. Aboriginal Affairs, Lee Lazarevic
- 6. Awabakal Corporation, vacant
- 7. Awabakal Local Aboriginal Land Council, Kumarah Kelly
- 8. University of Newcastle, Nathan Towney
- 9. Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council, Andrew Smith
- 10. Theresa Dargin, Community member
- 11. Maree Edwards, Community member
- 12. Toni Manton, Community member

#### Objective of the committee

To provide strategic advice and guidance with relation to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander issues, gives life to Council's commitment to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people of the City of Newcastle and engages Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Local Government.

#### Summary of key items of business considered

This year the Committee's business focus was around land management and use, building design, artistic opportunities and economic opportunities for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community.

#### Summary of key achievements

This year the Committees key achievements included:

- Development of sub-committees for major projects. These included but are not limited to, Broadmeadow Place Making Strategy, Honeysuckle and the Wickham precinct.
- The Committee had input into a number of significant Strategies, Plans of Management and internal policies.
- The Committee has been able to guide Council around issues concerning Aboriginal Cultural Heritage.
- The Committee has pursued delivery of the Notice of Motions brought by the Council elect.

## **Guraki Advisory Committee Annual Report 2023**



### Summary of performance and governance

Date of Meeting	Quorum achieved	Members in attendance	Agenda circulated to members and published on CN's website	Declaration of conflicts of interest listed as agenda item	Minutes circulated to members, adopted by the committee and published on CN's website
22 <sup>nd</sup> February 2023	Quorate	1.Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz 2.Councillor Charlotte McCabe 3.Councillor Deahnna Richardson 4.Luke Russell, Chair, 5.Andrew Smith, Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council 6.Lee Lazarevic, Aboriginal Affairs 7. Theresa Dargin Dates, Community member 8.Maree Edwards, Community member	Yes	Yes	Yes
2 <sup>nd</sup> March 2023	Quorate	1.Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz 2.Councillor Charlotte McCabe 3.Councillor Deahnna Richardson 4. Kumarah Kelly, Awabakal Local Aboriginal Land Council 5.Andrew Smith, Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council 6.Nathan Towney, UON 7. Toni Manton, Community member 8. Theresa Dargin Dates, Community member	Yes	Yes	Yes
28 <sup>th</sup> June 2023	Quorate	1.Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz 2.Councillor Deahnna Richardson 3.Luke Russell, Chair 4.Lee Lazervic, Aboriginal Affairs 5.Nathan Towney, UON 6.Kumarah Kelly, Awabakal Local Aboriginal Land Council 7.Toni Manton, Community member 8. Theresa Dargin, Community member	Yes	Yes	Yes
28 <sup>th</sup> August 2023	Quorate	1.Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz     2.Councillor Deahnna Richardson     3.Kumarah Kelly, Awabakal Local     Aboriginal Land Council	Yes	Yes	Yes

# **Guraki Advisory Committee Annual Report 2023**



		4. Lee Lazervic, Aboriginal Affairs 5.Nathan Towney, UON 6.Theressa Dargin Dates, Community Member			
27th November 2023	Quorate	1.Councillor Peta Winney-Baartz 2.Councillor Charlotte McCabe 3. Luke Russell, Chair 4.Andrew Smith, Worimi Local Aboriginal Land Council 5. Lee Lazervic, Aboriginal Affairs 6.Toni Manton, Community member	Yes	Yes	Yes